Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for June 10th, 2009

I wanted to use an ink wash for the next installment in the Frosti notebook. I’ve been short on time, so I did a quick sketch of Frosti’s profile. The outlines were done with a Tombow Ultra Roll Pen, the background I used Higgins ink. It performed much like watercolor paint, and I had to be careful not to get the paper too wet or the paper started to bubble. The smooth, coated surface on the paper did resist the watered down ink at first, and there were little specks that did not accept the paint, but this is to be expected with Moleskine’s Japanese Album and Sketchbooks. I think I would prefer the Moleskine Watercolor journal for ink wash in the future.

I used pen & ink and ink wash in the Moleskine Japanese Album. I think the Watercolor Journal would have yielded better results, but this works in a pinch.

I used pen & ink and ink wash in the Moleskine Japanese Album. I think the Watercolor Journal would have yielded better results, but this works in a pinch.

I wanted to spend more time on this, but my schedule wouldn’t permit it, so I feel as though this illustration looks rushed. I am not thrilled with it, but like so many things in life, I had to let go of it and look forward to the next one.

Read Full Post »

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,356 other followers

